Metamorphosis (1984)

Ruth Lomon

Cello, Piano

1. The Source.  A virtuosic movement for the cello in a spirited dialogue with the piano

2. Emergence.  The cello has a dramatic soliloquy with encouragement from the piano.

3.  Imago.  ‘Tempo di tango’ opens the 3rd movement  leading into a swift, vibrant duo that concludes with a recap of ‘tempo di tango’.

Commissioned for the Carnegie Recital Hall debut of Elizabeth Dolin.

view score here

17 minutes